India won the Thomas Cup for the first time, beating Indonesia in a historic title

India’s men’s badminton team on Sunday clinched a historic victory in the game, raising 14-time champions Indonesia 3-0 in the final to seal their first Thomas victory. Cup title.

World Championship medalists Lakshya Sen, Kidambi Srikkanth and doubles players Chirag Sethi and Sattviksairaj Rankireddy have delivered the most and stunned the 14-time champions with an impressive performance.

Lakshya Sen defeated Olympic bronze medalist Anthony Sinisuka Gintingin in the first singles match at the Impact Arena, while Kidambi Srikanth stopped Jonathan Christie in the second singles division as India became only the sixth country to win the coveted trophy.

Sattviksairaj Rankireddy, a doubles pairing with Chirag Shetty, was able to snatch victory against Mohammad Ahsan and Kevin Sanjay Sukamuljo in the first doubles.

For India, it was an incredible week for their badminton team as the country had never before reached the top tier of the most prestigious event in the world.

Kidambi Srikanth defeated Jonathan Christie 21-15 23-21 in the second singles match as India only won the coveted trophy as the sixth country.

After a 48-minute slagfest, Srikanth jumped to Christie’s left to drill a crosscourt smash.

The 29-year-old dropped his racket and roared before being crowded by his teammates who attacked the court.

India proved their victories in the knockout stages against five-time champions Malaysia and 2016 winners Denmark as they put up another daring performance against the Badminton Power House.

Sen typed that fight against Ginting in his 8-21 21-17 21-16 win.

The 20-year-old lost the first game but he won the second game and decided to win 7-11.

A similar script was followed in the first doubles match where Rankireddy and Shetty lost the first game.

In the second roar they saved four match points and won 18-21 23-21 21-19.

Srikanth kept it simple by winning the first game in the 19th minute.

Christie put up more resistance in the second game but Srikanth’s reflexes and calculated aggression in the net ensured that India won the final without missing a match.

India won the knockout stage against five-time champions Malaysia and 2016 winners Denmark.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi led Shraddha back home to celebrate the victory. “Indian badminton team has made history! The whole nation is overjoyed to win India’s Thomas Cup …” Modi tweeted.

In addition, the Indian Ministry of Sports has announced a cash prize of Rs 10 million ($ 129,000) for the squad.

(With input from the agency)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.