Tripura: Out of dissatisfaction, 11 ministers of Tripura took oath

Amid growing discontent among some of Tripura’s legislators, 11 ministers were sworn in on Monday, a day after new Chief Minister Manik Saha took office.

Among the 11 ministers, nine BJP MLAs and two IPFT MLAs, were sworn in by Governor Satyadeo Narayan Arya at a function here at Raj Bhavan.

Nine of the 11 ministers were in the cabinet headed by former chief minister Biplob Kumar Deb, who resigned on Saturday.

The ministers who were sworn in on Monday are Jishnu Dev Verma (Deputy Chief Minister), Ratan Lal Nath, Pranjit Singh Roy, Manoj Kanti Dev, Santana Chakma, Ram Prasad Paul, Bhagwan Chandra Das, Sushant Chowdhury, Rampad Jamatia, all from the BJP. ; And Narendra Chandra Devvarma and Prem Kumar Rayang from IPFT.

The only female minister in the Chakma Parishad.

The number of the council including the Chief Minister is 12.

Jamatia and Reyang are senior tribal leaders.

Due to internal conflicts in the IPFT, former Forest and Tribal Welfare Minister Mevar Kumar Jamatia was dropped by the party’s supremo Narendra Chandra Devvarma.

Saha, who is also the president of the Tripura BJP, was sworn in as the state’s 12th chief minister on Sunday, just a day after Biplob Kumar Dev resigned from the top post.

The main opposition CPI-M-led Left Front, Congress and other political parties boycotted the swearing-in ceremony on Sunday and Monday, alleging large-scale political attacks.

Elections for the 60-member Tripura Assembly are scheduled for January-February 2023 Since May 2019, Tripura has witnessed a wave of revolt by disgruntled BJP MLAs and leaders against Dev.

Dev, 51, became chief minister on March 9, 2018, ending a 25-year rule after the BJP-IPFT alliance came to power after defeating the Left Front in the Assembly elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.